We were all so ready for the future. Well, now that future is here; systems like the HTC Vive, PSVR, and Oculus Rift have been available to the public for a couple years now, and, spoiler alert, they’re incredible! I actually purchased my own Oculus Rift just over a year ago. So now with a year of use under my belt, let me tell you why the Oculus Rift is just as good as it sounds, if not better. Just make sure your PC is up to par, or else it won’t even run. I don’t mean that it’ll look bad graphically or just have a terrible frame-rate, I mean you won’t even be able to install it. I know this for a fact as I tried to install it on an older PC of mine while waiting for my new rig to come in (which ended up costing about $1400). You might consider that a “hidden” cost, IF you have to upgrade, but who knows – maybe your PC is already up to snuff, and you’re ready to go. Thankfully the people at Oculus have developed a compatibility check tool. Now, I personally find these way more comfortable than the Vive controllers, and I much prefer the physical analog sticks over the touch pads. The only issue I can think of is actually a positive and negative at the same time. The controllers run on batteries (1 AA each). I love that because if one dies, I can swap it out instead of having to plug them in, charge them, and wait. However, the battery compartment covers are magnetically held on, which again, great…except for sometimes, they become hard to move, as you have to slide them off, and if you’re hands are slippery from sweat or whatnot, you’re not removing them. And just a note of caution…USE THE STRAPS! There have been too many people who’ve flung their controllers into their TVs. The faceplate can be swapped out for aftermarket ones. I highly recommend you do this, one, because it allows you to use the material you find most comfortable, and two, because the foam does a wonderful job soaking up your sweat and if you’re playing with friends, no one wants to use your sweat drenched face plate, so it’s more sanitary. As for the view itself, there can be some god rays, but those never really bothered me, and the graphics really depend on what graphics card your running. Mine isn’t the top of the line, but again, the immersion really just let’s you forget about all of that. (I still don’t think my mom forgives me for accidentally punching her fan when trying to jump up to grab a gun in Robo Recall.) On top of all that, it comes with built in headphones unlike the Vive and PSVR where you need your own (say hello to more cords). Are they the greatest in the world? No. But they’re pretty damn good, and not having to buy/add your own is a huge bonus in my eyes. Plus, they’re detachable if you really feel inclined to use your own set. I own 57 games/apps/experiences. What’s an experience, you may be asking? Well, it’s more of an interactive (kind of) story than an actual game. More like a virtual video or tour, to really show off what VR is like than to actually play. There hasn’t been a game I’ve played that I didn’t enjoy (except for Subnautica, but I’ll get into that later). It’s just breathtaking. I would say go watch gameplay on YouTube or Twitch of Star Trek Bridge Crew, Beat Saber, The Climb, or Robo Recall, etc. but it just wouldn’t do them any justice. Oh, still go and watch them because the games are amazing. But just know you won’t be fully able to grasp the experience of actually BEING in those worlds. The problem occurred when my friends discovered they could use an Xbox control to ALSO control my movements. So, there I am, trying to use the touch controls to move around the ocean while suddenly I’m moving in different directions and fighting for control. I got pretty nauseous, pretty quickly. I know most Microsoft Stores have the Vive demo and Best Buy has the Oculus demo (usually on weekends only). Call your local stores, see if they’re demoing them, and try them out. (This will also help you figure out if you get motion sick or not.) That’s exactly what made me know I wanted to purchase VR, when Tristan and I stumbled into the Microsoft Store at the Florida Mall in Orlando, and we both tried the Vive. So, go out, try one, and get one for yourself. Oh, and tweet some pictures at us when you do @List25 or @MichaelBEstrin. Maybe we can even game together!

I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 36I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 34I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 53I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 98I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 19I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 63I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 44I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 98I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 51I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 37I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 18I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 99I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 35I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 71I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 77I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 17I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 65I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 54I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 75I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 28I Tested The Oculus Rift   And Yes  It s As Awesome As It Sounds    List25 - 20